Immigration Services – General

The Tier 1 (General) category allows highly skilled people to look for work or self-employment opportunities in the UK. Tier 1 (General) migrants can seek employment in the UK without a sponsor, and can take up self-employment and business opportunities here.

This category is now closed to applicants who are outside the UK, and to migrants who are already here in most other immigration categories.

You can apply to extend your stay in the UK under Tier 1 (General) if you are already in the UK with permission to stay (known as ‘leave to remain’) in one of the following immigration categories:

  • highly skilled migrant
  • writer, composer or artist
  • self-employed lawyer
  • Tier 1 (General)
  • Highly Skilled Migrant Programme (HSMP), if you are eligible to switch into Tier 1 (General).

If you are not in one of the categories above, you cannot apply to Tier 1 (General).

You need sufficient point to apply for leave to enter as a prospective Tier 1 General applicant. To see whether you meet the requirements please use the points calculator